The Basket Weave Stitch

This is one of my favorite patterns for its textural interest and design potential. The woven illusion is not only aesthetically pleasing, but it creates a cushy, cozy fabric that’s great for cloths, blankets, robes, and more. Unfortunately, I always forget exact pattern repeat and I end up spending an hour figuring it out because I feel like I “should” remember how it goes. To avoid recreating the wheel yet again, here it is for my reference and yours!

The Pattern

Cast on a multiple of 8 stitches, plus 5 (i.e. I use 37 stitches for a wash cloth with no border)

Row 1: knit

Row 2: k5, *p3, k5, repeat from * to end

Row 3: p5, *k3, p5 to end

Row 4: repeat row 2

Row 5: knit

Row 6: k1, p3, *k5, p3 to last stitch, k1

Row 7: p1, k3, *p5, k3 to last stitch, k1

Row 8: repeat row 6

Repeat rows 1 through 8 for desired length

Leave a Reply

